Carlin announce Buzz as title sponsor, Natori as first driver

Published on 11 Jan 2019 10:39

Carlin has announced that Japanese investment firm Buzz will be its title sponsor for the 2019 FIA Formula 3 season. Arriving with the title sponsor deal is driver Teppei Natori, who ended the Japanese Formula 4 championship in second place last year.

The title sponsor deal with Buzz will see a departure of Carlin's traditional blue livery to a black and neon yellow design for the F3 cars. Carlin and Buzz first came together at the 2018 Macau Grand Prix, which resulted in a double podium finish for Calum Ilott.

Buzz offers support to young talented people in an effort to aid their future careers. The company was founded by Daisuke Hasegawa, who is a former racing driver. Speaking about the deal, Carlin's Natori says he is excited to take part in the inaugural FIA F3 season.

“I am very excited to be the part of Carlin Buzz Racing in the FIA Formula 3 Championship," the 18-year-old said. "There will be a lot to learn this season, but we will fight hard together for the championship with the aim of becoming an F1 driver in the future."

Team Principal Trevor Carlin added: “We welcome Teppei to the team for the upcoming season following what has been a strong year racing in the Japanese Formula 4 Championship. Teppei already knows how to fight for wins and podiums so we look forward to working together and hitting the ground running during testing ahead of the first race in May.”

In relation to the deal with Buzz, Carlin said: “We’re extremely proud to be carrying the Buzz name and colours on our FIA F3 race cars for the 2019 season. We had a great experience working together for the 2018 Macau Grand Prix and hope this is a relationship that can continue in the future."

Natori becomes the first addition to Carlin's 2019 F3 line-up. The upcoming series is a merge of the former GP3 Series and European Formula 3 Championship, while the European Masters takes the place of the European F3 Championship.


2019 FIA Formula 3 Grid
  1. David Beckmann
ART Grand Prix 2
  1. Sebastian Fernandez
Campos Racing 2. 
  1. Teppei Natori
Carlin Buzz Racing 2.
Charouz Racing System 2.
  1. Juri Vips
Hitech Grand Prix 2.
HWA Racelab 2.
  1. Yuki Tsunoda
Jenzer Motorsport 2.
MP Motorsport 2.
  1. Marcus Armstrong
Prema Racing 2. Jehan Daruvala
Trident  2.


Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name GB Carlin Motorsport
Founding date Jan 1 1996
45 comments on Carlin Motorsport
0 members have this team as their favourite
Location Farnham, England
Tweets about Carlin Motorsport
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi