Mercedes take fifth consecutive constructors' championship

Published on 11 Nov 2018 20:21

Two weeks after Lewis Hamilton wrapped up his drivers' title in Mexico, Mercedes has clinched its fifth consecutive constructors' champion in Brazil. The two Silver Arrows crossed the line in first and fifth which was enough to deny Ferrari the chance to take the fight to Abu Dhabi.

Lewis Hamilton won the race after re-taking the lead when Max Verstappen got involved in trouble with Esteban Ocon, who was attempting to un-lap himself. The German manufacturer remains undefeated in the turbo hybrid era.

Despite ending a 55-year absence from Formula 1 in 2010, Mercedes is now a clear fifth place in the list of all-time constructors' championship wins. It is now only behind Ferrari (16), Williams (9), McLaren (8) and Lotus (7).

Mercedes has streaked clear of Ferrar in the second half of the season as the Scuderia outfit has struggled to keep up. The team has had problems with development, while Sebastian Vettel has got himself involved in a number of on-track mishaps.

Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name NL Max Verstappen
Active As Red Bull Racing Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Sep 30 1997 (21)
Weight 70 kg
Height 1.80m
City Monaco
543,427 comments on Verstappen
766 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Max Verstappen
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name IT Ferrari
Founding date Jan 1 1929
369,960 comments on Ferrari
204 members have this team as their favourite
Location Maranello
Tweets about Ferrari
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi