Abiteboul issues more pressure in the way of Palmer

Published on 15 Jun 2017 10:46

Renault has applied even more pressure to their driver Jolyon Palmer amid the Brit's struggles at the team. The 2014 GP2 champion has failed to match the pace of Nico Hulkenberg this season and now finds himself at risk of losing his F1 seat for next season.

Waiting in the wings are Sergey Sirotkin, Robert Kubica, Sergio Perez and Carlos Sainz, who have all been thrown in contention for the seat. Palmer joined the team at the start of 2016 but has found life in F1 difficult, picking up just 1 career point last year in Malaysia.

"Jolyon must deliver," boss Abiteboul told the French broadcaster Canal Plus. "He has a contract for the year, now he has to deliver like everyone else," he added. "The obligation was first on the team -- we had to give him a car that runs well to allow him enough kilometres to do a good job on the weekend, which we did.

"There was really our priority to have reliability, which was putting pressure on us. We put pressure on him as well but it must be positive. So I will not start making threats on a driver who does not need that at this stage," Abiteboul said.


Fergal Walsh

Replies (1)
US renaultFanF1 19 Jun 2017 14:160
Posts: 39
Just let Kubica take over for the next few races and see the difference.

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Do you like the new F1 logo?

Driver profile
Name MX Sergio Perez
Active As Force India Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Jan 26 1990 (27)
Weight 64 kg
Length 1.73m
City Valencia
43,696 comments on Perez
3 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Sergio Perez
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name FR Renault
Founding date Jan 1 1977
133,363 comments on Renault
21 members have this team as their favourite
Website http://www.renaultsportf1.com
Location Enstone
Tweets about Renault
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 26 November 2017
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi