Joey Mawson gets drive with Van Amersfoort

Published on 21 Feb 2017 14:22

Joey Mawson has revealed that he will be sticking with Dutch team Van Amersfoort for 2017, graduating from Formula 4 to the highly competitive FIA Formula 3 European Championship

“I am ready for the next step,” Mawson said about his graduation into the FIA Formula 3 European Championship. “And following the strong relationship we have built up, I am glad to be taking the next step together with Van Amersfoort Racing.

"I know everybody in the team, they know me, so that will definitely help to speed up the learning process in my first season in Formula 3. I am well aware of the task that I am facing, but I am eager to learn and acquire more experience. I have already had my first taste of driving the Dallara-Mercedes Formula 3 car and I can hardly wait to get back behind the wheel again.”

The 20 year was recently pipped for the MRF Challenge Formula 2000 by Harrison Newey. Van Amersfoort Racing Team Principal Frits van Amersfoort is delighted that the Australian is sticking around for the season ahead.

"We really enjoyed working with Joey in the past two years and after all the success we have had together, it was only natural we could work together for the coming season.

"Allowing drivers who raced with us in the lower formulae to make the next step in their careers while staying with our team is exactly in line with our philosophy of the Van Amersfoort Racing single-seater staircase. Joey is a perfect example and we are looking forward to working with him again this year.”


Fergal Walsh

Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name DE Mercedes
Founding date Jan 1 1930
361,743 comments on Mercedes
39 members have this team as their favourite
Location Stuttgart
Tweets about Mercedes
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi