Highly-rated youngster Lando Norris gets F3 seat

Published on 15 Dec 2016 14:50

Highly-rated British teenager Lando Norris will graduate to European Formula Three full time next year with Carlin.

The 17-year-old won three championship titles in 2016, adding the Toyota Racing Series, Formula Renault 2.0 NEC, and Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 crowns to his 2015 MSA Formula (British F4) title in 2015.

He competed in the final round of the 2016 European F3 season with Carlin at Hockenhein, taking a brace of 16th place finishes after retiring from the first race of the weekend.

"I’m very happy to be driving for Carlin in 2017," said Norris. "Next season marks my third season racing for them."

"The guys in the team are great, we enjoy spending time together, we all get along very well and importantly I believe they are the right team for my first season in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship."

"It’s a very competitive series but I’m sure that I have the right ‘package’ to challenge for the title having shown good pace at Hockenheim and Macau."

Norris also recently won the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, and will test a McLaren Formula One car as part of his prize in 2017.

Replies (0)

Test sessions
ES Winter testing - Circuit de Catalunya
Feb 26 2018
Feb 27 2018
Feb 28 2018
Mar 1 2018
ES Winter testing - Circuit de Catalunya
Mar 6 2018
Mar 7 2018
Mar 8 2018
Mar 9 2018
        Grand Prix of Australia
Local time
Sunday Weather image
07:10 - 09:10
Fastest lap
07:10 - 09:10
Saturday Weather image
Free practice 3
04:00 - 05:00
07:00 - 08:00
Friday Weather image
Free practice 1
02:00 - 03:30
Free practice 2
06:00 - 07:30
Give your opinion!
Do you support the idea of grid kids?

Track Albert Park
Track Albert Park
Location AU Melbourne, Australia
Website Website
Team profile
Name GB McLaren
Founding date Jan 1 1963
177,790 comments on McLaren
87 members have this team as their favourite
Website http://www.mclaren.com
Location Woking
Tweets about McLaren
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 26 November 2017
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Next Grand Prix: 25 March 2018
AU Grand Prix of Australia Grand Prix of Australia