FP2: Bottas pips Verstappen by 0.044s

Published on 23 Nov 2018 15:30

Valtteri Bottas has topped the second practice session from the Yas Marina Circuit, marginally beating Red Bull's Max Verstappen to the top spot. Verstappen, who ended the opening session on top, was beaten by less than half a tenth by the Finnish driver.

Red Bull kept up its strong pace from first practice, with Daniel Ricciardo concluding his day in third place. The Australian, who is competing in his last weekend for the energy drink squad, was third fastest and just under two-tenths down on pace-setter Bottas.

Lewis Hamilton followed the seven-time Grand Prix winner, with the Ferrari duo of Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel trailing the newly crowned five-time world drivers champion. 

Can Valtteri Bottas win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? The Finn is currently 5/2 to take the victory!

Haas looked strong after the second session, with Romain Grosjean ending up in seventh. The American squad is chasing Renault for fourth in the constructor's championship, however face the tall order of clawing back 22 points in one race.

The second Haas car of Kevin Magnussen was two places down on Grosjean, with Nico Hulkenberg splitting the pair in eighth place. After Toto Wolff confirmed over lunch that he would be Mercedes' 2019 reserve driver, Esteban Ocon ended the session rounding out the top ten.

After dazzling last timeout in Brazil, Sauber struggled throughout the day. After Marcus Ericsson made contact with the barriers in FP1, the Hinwil squad could only manage P15 with Charles Leclerc and P17 with Ericsson at the end of Friday.

The usual suspects rounded out the timesheets, with the two Williams' and Stoffel Vandoorne filling out the final three spots. Fernando Alonso, in his final FP2 session, got P13, behind Toro Rosso's Pierre Gasly and compatriot Carlos Sainz.

23 November 2018 - Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi - Free practice 2
  Driver Team Time Difference #
1. FI Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:37.236 37
2. NL Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1:37.280 +0.044 32
3. AU Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:37.428 +0.192 31
4. GB Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:37.443 +0.207 35
5. FI Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:37.461 +0.225 40
6. DE Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:37.569 +0.333 39
7. FR Romain Grosjean Haas F1 1:38.060 +0.824 30
8. DE Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1:38.230 +0.994 36
9. DK Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 1:38.318 +1.082 30
10. FR Esteban Ocon Racing Point Force India 1:38.402 +1.166 33
11. FR Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1:38.506 +1.270 32
12. ES Carlos Sainz jr Renault 1:38.511 +1.275 37
13. ES Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:38.725 +1.489 35
14. MX Sergio Perez Racing Point Force India 1:38.806 +1.570 31
15. MC Charles Leclerc Sauber 1:38.831 +1.595 33
16. NZ Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1:38.957 +1.721 35
17. SE Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:39.502 +2.266 36
18. BE Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:39.938 +2.702 18
19. CA Lance Stroll Williams 1:40.046 +2.810 33
20. RU Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1:40.935 +3.699 39
See all results of this event

Replies (1)
SE calle.itw 23 Nov 2018 18:220
Posts: 5636
Im kinda surprised by how strong RB already look. I wont lie in that Im not really looking forward to this race, IMO I find Abu Dhabi to be a pretty boring GP, but I hope Abu Dhabi will surprise me as much as the likes of Bahrain did.

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name NL Max Verstappen
Active As Red Bull Racing Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Sep 30 1997 (21)
Weight 70 kg
Height 1.80m
City Monaco
543,427 comments on Verstappen
766 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Max Verstappen
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name FR Renault
Founding date Jan 1 1977
289,729 comments on Renault
26 members have this team as their favourite
Website http://www.renaultsportf1.com
Location Enstone
Tweets about Renault
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi