Sainz to test with McLaren in Abu Dhabi

Published on 22 Nov 2018 09:11

Carlos Sainz will get behind the wheel of a McLaren for the first time at the post-season Abu Dhabi test, the team has confirmed. Sainz will make the full-time switch to McLaren next season, where he will partner rookie Lando Norris.

Sainz will cut his ties with the Red Bull junior squad that brought him into Formula 1 at the start of 2015. Towards the end of 2017, he joined Renault where he remained throughout the 2018 season alongside Nico Hulkenberg.

However the French squad decided to sign Daniel Ricciardo for 2019, leaving Sainz to make a deal with McLaren and take over Fernando Alonso's seat, a driver he has admired and idolised since he started racing.

The two-day test, which is hosted by Pirelli, allows young drivers or drivers switching teams to gain experience in a new environment. The test will run on the Tuesday and Wednesday after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, with Norris driving the MCL33 on Tuesday and Sainz stepping into the cockpit on Wednesday.

Sainz will not be the only driver who will drive during the test for a new team. Daniil Kvyat, who is making his F1 return next year, will be back in the Toro Rosso, while Charles Leclerc and Kimi Raikkonen will drive the Ferrari and Sauber respectively.

Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name ES Fernando Alonso
Active As McLaren Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Jul 29 1981 (37)
Weight 68 kg
Height 1.71m
City Oviedo
161,709 comments on Alonso
64 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Fernando Alonso
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name IT Ferrari
Founding date Jan 1 1929
370,188 comments on Ferrari
204 members have this team as their favourite
Location Maranello
Tweets about Ferrari
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi