FP3: Vettel storms clear out in front

Published on 10 Nov 2018 16:00

Sebastian Vettel has topped the final practice session at Interlagos after setting a 1:07.948. It marks the first time Ferrari has finished in front of the competition this weekend after coming close in the opening two practice sessions on Friday.

Newly crowned five-time world champion Lewis Hamilton finished in second place, over two-tenths behind Vettel. Hamilton had a slight issue during the session, with a loose breather pipe in the power unit causing it to billow smoke as it returned to the garage.

However it was not deemed serious and the Briton was able to continue on his way. The second Mercedes of Valtteri Bottas was behind Hamilton, but was three-tenths down on his teammate. Bottas' compatriot Kimi Raikkonen followed in fourth.

Red Bull claimed on Friday evening that it would not be in the pole position fight on Saturday due to the engine deficit to Mercedes and Ferrari. Max Verstappen ended up in fifth place, but was 0.785 down on pace-setter Vettel. Daniel Ricciardo was sixth, half a tenth down on Verstappen.

After a strong Friday for Haas, the American squad continued its strong pace into Saturday. Romain Grosjean got the better of his teammate Kevin Magnussen with the duo coming home in seventh and eighth respectively.

Pierre Gasly, who is running with the upgraded Honda engine this weekend, and Charles Leclerc rounded out the top ten. However, the mid-field fight is once again looking close, as the Renault of Nico Hulkenberg was just 0.013 outside the top ten.

As it looks to overtake McLaren for sixth in the championship standings, Force India had a tough session, failing to get a car inside the top ten. Esteban Ocon ended the session behind Hulkenberg, while Sergio Perez was second last, splitting the two McLarens.

Marcus Ericsson and Carlos Sainz followed Ocon but were only just ahead of the Williams' and the second Toro Rosso of Brendon Hartley. The Kiwi split the two Williams', with Sergey Sirotkin getting the better of Lance Stroll, who was seventeenth.

10 November 2018 - Grand Prix of Brazil - Free practice 3
  Driver Team Time Difference #
1. DE Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:07.948 17
2. GB Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:08.165 +0.217 15
3. FI Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:08.465 +0.517 23
4. FI Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:08.490 +0.542 17
5. NL Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1:08.733 +0.785 12
6. AU Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:08.788 +0.840 12
7. DK Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 1:09.146 +1.198 14
8. FR Romain Grosjean Haas F1 1:09.257 +1.309 16
9. FR Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1:09.402 +1.454 22
10. MC Charles Leclerc Sauber 1:09.448 +1.500 21
11. DE Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1:09.461 +1.513 19
12. FR Esteban Ocon Racing Point Force India 1:09.588 +1.640 18
13. SE Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:09.808 +1.860 23
14. ES Carlos Sainz jr Renault 1:09.864 +1.916 17
15. RU Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1:09.885 +1.937 14
16. NZ Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1:09.985 +2.037 18
17. CA Lance Stroll Williams 1:10.001 +2.053 17
18. ES Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:10.020 +2.072 15
19. MX Sergio Perez Racing Point Force India 1:10.116 +2.168 18
20. BE Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:10.289 +2.341 16
See all results of this event

Replies (1)
SE calle.itw 10 Nov 2018 17:510
Posts: 5636
Ferrari power seem to work well around here.

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name NL Max Verstappen
Active As Red Bull Racing Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Sep 30 1997 (21)
Weight 70 kg
Height 1.80m
City Monaco
543,427 comments on Verstappen
766 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Max Verstappen
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name IT Ferrari
Founding date Jan 1 1929
369,960 comments on Ferrari
204 members have this team as their favourite
Website http://www.ferrari.com
Location Maranello
Tweets about Ferrari
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi