FP1: Verstappen leads tight opening session

Published on 09 Nov 2018 15:30

Max Verstappen has topped the first practice session in Brazil, fresh from his victory two weeks ago in Mexico. The Dutchman set a lap time of 1:09.011 to go just faster than the competition, with Sebastian Vettel narrowly close behind.

Vettel was just under half a tenth behind the Red Bull driver, with both setting their times on the super soft compound. Lewis Hamilton, who arrives in Interlagos as a five-time world champion, got his weekend underway by setting the third fastest time, just under one-tenth of a second down on Verstappen.

Daniel Ricciardo ended the session in fourth place and will be hoping to have a more successful race this weekend than he did in Mexico. After claiming pole position two weeks ago, he was forced to retire from the race with a car issue.

The FIA confirmed on Friday morning that Ricciardo has been handed a five-place grid penalty for Sunday's race as he has taken on a new turbo for the weekend. Behind the Red Bull driver was the Finnish duo of Kimi Raikkonen and Valtteri Bottas.

The session was riddled with drivers locking up as they struggled for grip around the 4.3-kilometre circuit. The rain didn't arrive, however, there is a 60% chance that it could fall during the second practice session, which gets underway at 15:00 local time.

Haas may have been delivered a disappointment last week when its Monza disqualification appeal was upheld, but the American began the weekend in Brazil strongly. Kevin Magnussen and Romain Grosjean ended the session in seventh and eighth respectively.

Ferrari-bound Charles Leclerc ended up in ninth place ahead of the Force India of Esteban Ocon who rounded out the top ten. The two Renaults were pushing the boundaries of the circuit and ended up in eleventh and twelfth, with Carlos Sainz ahead of Nico Hulkenberg.

A number of junior drivers took part in the session. Antonio Giovinazzi led the Friday practice drivers, ended up in thirteenth behind the Renaults. He got the better of Lando Norris in fifteenth and Nicolas Latifi who was the slowest of the trio.

Lance Stroll was fourteenth, heading Toro Rosso's Pierre Gasly. The other Williams and Toro Rosso were seventeenth and eighteenth as Sergey SIrotkin managed to get the better of Brendon Hartley. Stoffel Vandoorne was nineteenth behind the Kiwi.

09 November 2018 - Grand Prix of Brazil - Free practice 1
  Driver Team Time Difference #
1. NL Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1:09.011 16
2. DE Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:09.060 +0.049 20
3. GB Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:09.107 +0.096 28
4. AU Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:09.395 +0.384 23
5. FI Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:09.573 +0.562 28
6. FI Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:09.679 +0.668 23
7. FR Romain Grosjean Haas F1 1:09.922 +0.911 28
8. DK Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 1:10.236 +1.225 15
9. MC Charles Leclerc Sauber 1:10.346 +1.335 28
10. FR Esteban Ocon Racing Point Force India 1:10.361 +1.350 34
11. ES Carlos Sainz jr Renault 1:10.662 +1.651 34
12. DE Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1:10.679 +1.668 34
13. IT Antonio Giovinazzi Sauber 1:10.685 +1.674 29
14. CA Lance Stroll Williams 1:10.799 +1.788 30
15. FR Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1:10.934 +1.923 30
16. GB Lando Norris McLaren 1:11.013 +2.002 28
17. RU Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1:11.037 +2.026 30
18. NZ Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1:11.176 +2.165 32
19. BE Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:11.452 +2.441 23
20. CA Nicholas Latifi Racing Point Force India 1:11.493 +2.482 34
See all results of this event

Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name NL Max Verstappen
Active As Red Bull Racing Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Sep 30 1997 (21)
Weight 70 kg
Height 1.80m
City Monaco
543,698 comments on Verstappen
766 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Max Verstappen
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi