Mexican GP: Verstappen wins, Hamilton crowned champion

Published on 28 Oct 2018 21:50

Lewis Hamilton has been crowned a five-time world champion at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez after crossing the line in fifth place. Max Verstappen won the Grand Prix, dominating the race after jumping pole-sitter Daniel Ricciardo off the line.

Hamilton also passed Ricciardo on the run down into Turn 1 but couldn't get by Verstappen. However, Hamilton suffered from tyre issues throughout the race and was the first man out of the top teams to come in and take off the ultra soft tyre.

Hamilton pitted on lap 11 for a set of the super soft tyres, and was followed in by teammate Valtteri Bottas. The following laps saw both Red Bulls and Ferraris come into the pits, with Raikkonen the last of the top six to peel into the pitlane.

Raikkonen stayed out and held up Hamilton for second, who lost a lot of time to Ricciardo. However, they both passed the Finn into Turn 4 and continued on their way. Soon though, they were both staring at the rear wing of Sebastian Vettel, who overtook them both.

Hamilton then started to struggle on his tyres and locked up at Turn 1 which allowed Ricciardo through. Mercedes made the call to bring Hamilton in for his second stop, and the Briton coasted to the end to make sure of his fifth world championship.

Vettel made a second pit stop and found himself closing in on Ricciardo, who had only made one pit stop. Vettel had a significant pace advantage but couldn't find a way around his former teammate, with traffic playing a major role in their battle.

But it soon went sour for Ricciardo as the when a burst of smoke came from his engine which forced him into his eighth retirement of the season. That promoted Vettel into second and Raikkonen into third, gifting Ferrari a double podium finish.

Hamilton eventually crossed the line in fourth place to seal the championship, finishing ahead of teammate Bottas. Nico Hulkenberg benefited from Ricciardo's retirement and was promoted into sixth place. Renault missed out on a double points finish after Carlos Sainz was forced into retirement with a car issue.

Sauber has now overtaken Toro Rosso in the constructor's championship after Charles Leclerc and Marcus Ericsson finished in seventh and ninth place respectively. Stoffel Vandoorne bagged his first top ten finish since Azerbaijan, while Pierre Gasly secured the final point.

28 October 2018 - Grand Prix of Mexico - Race
  Driver Team Difference #
1. NL Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1h38 71
2. DE Sebastian Vettel Ferrari + 17.316 71
3. FI Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari + 49.914 71
4. GB Lewis Hamilton Mercedes + 78.738 71
5. FI Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 70
6. DE Nico Hülkenberg Renault 69
7. MC Charles Leclerc Sauber 69
8. BE Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 69
9. SE Marcus Ericsson Sauber 69
10. FR Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 69
11. FR Esteban Ocon Racing Point Force India 69
12. NZ Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 69
13. CA Lance Stroll Williams 69
14. RU Sergey Sirotkin Williams 69
15. DK Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 69
16. FR Romain Grosjean Haas F1 68
Did not finish
17. AU Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 61
18. MX Sergio Perez Racing Point Force India 38
19. ES Carlos Sainz jr Renault 28
20. ES Fernando Alonso McLaren 3
See all results of this event

Replies (2)
US ajpennypacker 28 Oct 2018 22:17+2
Posts: 1499
Well that was dissapointing... I expected drama at the front and that lasted for about 45s. Then it turned into a snoozefest, compounded by reliability issues that made it even worse. Also, what the hell is going on with Ricciardo's car? I mean if I were a bit more irrational I'd start throwing tinfoil hat theories...

Great drive for Stoffel, he really needed some points. Although, he was very lucky to be there.

Nice for Vettel for completing his first race without spinning in some time. Although he did touch with Bottas.

México once again delivered what I'd describe as the best atmosphere of the entire calendar, but the race itself was very underwhelming.

Finally, congratulations to Lewis on securing his 5th title. It was well earned in a year where at least on half the races he didn't have the fastest car. He comprehensively discomfited Sebastián. Although it could be argued that Sebastián did a lot of that to himself.

I do hope that with very little else to play for, we get more action at the front and provide some entertaining final races. However, don't expect Lewis to win any races, he's got a perfect record of not winning after securing his championship.
SE calle.itw 29 Oct 2018 06:060
Posts: 5864
A decent race. A bit disappointing, as AJPP say, but still decent. Congrats to Hammy. He did a good job this year. Mind, Im a bit disappointed. I was promised carnage on lap 1, and here I was, having found a pic of Scarecrow and having practiced on how I'd say that I love it when nightmaaarrres come trrrruuuee, yet now that will never happen. Thanks F1, for killing Calleween..

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name NL Max Verstappen
Active As Red Bull Racing Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Sep 30 1997 (21)
Weight 70 kg
Length 1.80m
City Monaco
570,125 comments on Verstappen
768 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Max Verstappen
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name IT Ferrari
Founding date Jan 1 1929
373,894 comments on Ferrari
203 members have this team as their favourite
Location Maranello
Tweets about Ferrari
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi