Report shows insight to Force India purchase

Published on 05 Oct 2018 06:39

FRP Advisory, the firm who handled Force India's administration earlier this year, has revealed the finer details surrounding how the team was saved and how dire the situation was before Lawrence Stroll led a consortium to purchase the team.

The report revealed that the Silverstone squad had £240,000 in its accounts when the administration process started on July 27. Force India's sponsor BWT gave the team a loan of £5m to pay salaries and keep the daily operations running.

The report also provided a long list of every creditor that was owed money by the team, with a total of approximately 400. Mercedes was owed the most, with the figure reading £13.7m. Its driver Sergio Perez was also owed a payment of around £4m.

A consortium of investors took over the company over the summer break, with the report indicating that there were 20 interested parties. However, only five of the candidates were deemed viable after making a formal offer to purchase the team.

Lawrence Stroll led a group of investors and took control of the team, allowing it to race in Belgium under a brand new entry. The current sale process is being contested by Uralkali, another interested party headed by Dmitry Mazepin, father of Force India's test driver Nikita Mazepin. 

Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name MX Sergio Perez
Active As Force India Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Jan 26 1990 (28)
Weight 64 kg
Length 1.73m
City Valencia
52,318 comments on Perez
3 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Sergio Perez
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name DE Mercedes
Founding date Jan 1 1930
361,466 comments on Mercedes
39 members have this team as their favourite
Location Stuttgart
Tweets about Mercedes
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi