Halo critics would still vote for it - Nico Hulkenberg

Published on 19 Dec 2016 15:19

Nico Hulkenberg feels that if drivers were to vote on the introduction of the 'halo' head protection device, most would be in favour despite many drivers voicing their criticisms of the feature over the last year.

Originally set to be introduced in 2017, the timeline was shifted to 2018 - although FIA president Jean Todt insists that drivers will be consulted before any change is implemented.

Drivers were given a fresh presentation on the benefits of the 'Halo' at the season finale in Abu Dhabi, although 2017 Renault driver Hukenberg remains unconvinced.

"I did not learn anything at the presentation that could change my mind," he told Auto Motor und Sport.

Fellow opponents include Max Verstappen, Esteban Ocon, Romain Grosjean, Kevin Magnussen and Jolyon Palmer, the German report added.

However, Hulkenberg fears that "If a vote were to be taken, the majority would probably be in favour".

Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Australia
Local time
Give your opinion!
Will 2017's new regulations bring more exciting racing?

Driver profile
Name NL Max Verstappen
Active As Red Bull Racing Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Sep 30 1997 (19)
Weight 70 kg
Length 1.80m
City Monaco
177,935 comments on Verstappen
576 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Max Verstappen
Track Albert Park
Track Albert Park
Location AU Melbourne, Australia
Website Website
Team profile
Name FR Renault
Founding date Jan 1 1977
90,905 comments on Renault
19 members have this team as their favourite
Website http://www.renaultsportf1.com
Location Enstone
Tweets about Renault
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 26 March 2017
AU Grand Prix of Australia Grand Prix of Australia
Next Grand Prix: 9 April 2017
CN Grand Prix of China Grand Prix of China