Vasseur hints at two lead drivers for 2017

Published on 16 Oct 2016 16:40

Renault team principal Frederic Vasseur says that he would like his team to contain two lead drivers for 2017.

Renault confirmed earlier this week that Nico Hulkenberg would be joining for the 2017 season and now many are eagerly anticipating who will partner him. Vasseur pointed at Mercedes as an example, and how their system of two lead drivers works perfectly.

“Why wouldn't we have two team leaders?” Vasseur said. “At Mercedes, it works perfectly.

“I don’t like the idea of having a top driver and another one left in the shadow. Performance comes emulation.

“Just look at Mercedes: the duel [between Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg] has pushed the team forward. The idea would be to have two equally talented drivers.”

Vasseur was asked if Esteban Ocon is in contention for the seat, as he is their test driver and from the same country as the works team.

“He is on our short-list,” Vasseur said. “It’s not a secret. We give ourselves a few races to monitor every candidate for our second seat before making the decision.

“Each race brings more valuable information. Ocon’s performance in Suzuka last weekend was very rewarding for him compared to his team-mate. He had an excellent Japanese Grand Prix.”

Replies (0)

        Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Local time
Give your opinion!
Which rookie do you think will impress the most in 2019?

Driver profile
Name DE Nico Hülkenberg
Active As Renault Driver in Formula 1
Date of birth Aug 19 1987 (31)
Weight 70 kg
Length 1.84m
City Emmerich am Rhein
8,509 comments on Hülkenberg
8 members have this driver as their favourite
Tweets about Nico Hülkenberg
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Location AE Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website Website
Team profile
Name FR Renault
Founding date Jan 1 1977
292,911 comments on Renault
26 members have this team as their favourite
Location Enstone
Tweets about Renault
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 25 November 2018
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi