Audi announce 2017 line up

Published on 10 Feb 2017 07:35

With three months left before the season opener at Hockenheim, Audi have officially confirmed their line up for the 2017 season. The premium brand are the only manufacturer to field three teams.  

Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline will see Nico Müller and Mattias Ekström partner each other. Audi Sport Team Phoenix will consist of Loïc Duval and Mike Rockenfeller, while René Rast and Jamie Green line up for Audi Sport Team Rosberg.

Audi’s new Head of Motorsport Dieter Gass commented on the revelations, stating that there is a spearhead at each team to help along their team mate.

“In Mattias Ekström at ABT, Jamie Green at Rosberg and Mike Rockenfeller at Phoenix, all three teams have their spearheads," he said. "These team-driver combinations were very powerful in the past. Our youngster, Nico Müller, is following in Edoardo Mortara’s footsteps and our two new DTM signings, Loïc Duval and René Rast, are going to benefit from the experience of their teammates."

In 2017, there will only be 18 cars racing instead of 24 due to a change in the regulations. The cars will also use hybrid systems for the first time in a bid to improve overtaking. Keeping with the theme of improving overtaking, the DRS wing has been changed back from a single-element plane wing to dual-element plane wing.


Fergal Walsh

Replies (0)

Test sessions
ES Winter testing - Circuit de Catalunya
Feb 27 2017
Feb 28 2017
Mar 1 2017
Mar 2 2017
ES Winter testing - Circuit de Catalunya
Mar 7 2017
Mar 8 2017
Mar 9 2017
Mar 10 2017
Give your opinion!
Will 2017's new regulations bring more exciting racing?

Track Albert Park
Track Albert Park
Location AU Melbourne, Australia
Website Website
Formula 1 Calendar
Previous Grand Prix: 27 November 2016
AE Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Next Grand Prix: 26 March 2017
AU Grand Prix of Australia Grand Prix of Australia